Electronic Case Reporting in 2024

Electronic Case Reporting (eCR) has been required under the MIPS Promoting Interoperability category since the beginning of performance year 2022. As we head into the third year of required eCR, let’s review what states are ready to receive eCR, and what to do if your state has not yet declared readiness.

What Does This Mean For Your Practice?

Nearly all states have declared readiness therefore, your practice should be prepared to report on this measure unless you are citing an exclusion. This blog can keep you up-to-date on those changes, as well as let you know what to do if your state is not ready yet.

What is eCR?

eCR allows automated, real-time exchange of relevant clinical data between EHRs and public health agencies (PHAs) and streamlines the case reporting process. Before the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, PHAs often had not enabled eCR functionality, and EHRs, thus, had little incentive to develop the functionality.

However, once the pandemic highlighted the issues with the US public health infrastructure, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) decided to require electronic case reporting beginning with MIPS performance year 2022. This policy has the goal of facilitating less burdensome, more complete, and more accurate public health reporting in the future.

How does eCR work?

eCR has five steps:

  1. Patient is diagnosed with a reportable condition (like COVID-19).
  2. Their provider enters this information into their EHR.
  3. Data in the EHR automatically triggers a case report that is validated and then sent to all appropriate public health agencies.
  4. The public health agency receives the report in real-time and responds to the provider about the reportability of the case.
  5. State health department reaches out to the patient regarding contact tracing or other public health actions.

For these steps to occur, the state health department has to be prepared to receive these automatically triggered case reports, but not every state has declared readiness to do so.

Which States are Ready to Receive eCR?

As of December 2023, only Mississippi and Texas have yet to declare readiness.

What If My State Is Ready to Receive eCR?

If your state is ready to receive eCR, it is important that you communicate directly with the relevant public health authority to get the process started for you to be able to participate. This measure requires active engagement to receive full points for your Promoting Interoperability score.

What If My State Isn’t Ready to Receive eCR?

CMS has allowed for three exclusions to this measure:

  1. Clinician does not treat or diagnose any reportable diseases for which data is collected by their jurisdiction’s reportable disease system during the performance period.
  2. Operates in a jurisdiction for which no PHA is capable of receiving electronic case reporting data in the specific standards required to meet the CEHRT definition at the start of the performance period.
  3. Operates in a jurisdiction where no PHA has declared readiness to receive electronic case reporting data as of six months prior to the start of the performance period.

In the case that your state is not yet ready to receive eCR, you should prepare to claim exclusion 3 for this measure.

We will update this map once all states have declared readiness.

Next Steps

  • Share this information with your practice colleagues.
  • Subscribe to our newsletter to get alerts on this and other important issues. You can subscribe using the field in our website footer below.
  • Contact your Client Success Manager if you have any questions.
  • If you’re not an Anatomy IT client and you want hands-on, personalized assistance, contact us and we will have your back.

If you have any questions on this, let us know!